EPGP-04 and EEPGM-11 batch set to join IIMK


First of all let me congratulate all of you who have made it to EPGP-04 and EEPGM-11 course of IIMK. As per information I have IIMK has selected 300 people for the course of which 250 are for EPGP and 50 are for EEPGM program. I heard this time they have waitlisted few of the candidates as well possibly to cover 5% drop out cases as well. All the 300 students would be divided into two sections A and B with each having 150 each with 125 EPGP and 25 EEPGM students. In our batch we were 250 odd people.

Now how many of the candidates were called for written test and interview I have two conflicting information – as per one of the sources 1000 people were shortlisted for written test and interviews and another sources says that number of candidates were more. Not sure which one is true. In any case guys selected have reasons to rejoice and those who couldn’t get through can feel happy that they have other courses – executive/full time to look for and who knows there may be better things planned for them in future.

For the guys who got through they need to be doubly sure before paying up the fees that one has to sacrifice their leisure time, watching TV, time with family, friends and relatives etc. Life becomes busy thereafter and 2 years 3 months commitment is long enough (2011 Oct – 2013 Dec end). First 2 terms would go past pretty quickly but then third and fourth quarter would feel like a stretch. I am in fourth quarter (Year 1) so can’t say about Year 2 now.

If you have made up your mind then pay up the fees, book your flights early and in case IIMK is providing you the accomadation well and good otherwise you would have to book some hotel in nearby places.

Regarding hotels one can opt for Calicut Towers, Malabar Palace, Hotel Hyson. There will be designated Pickup points and from which IIMK bus (each bus has a number) will pick you up. Most of the routes and hotels are covered by bus route so no worries. All these hotels provide Bed and Breakfast services. Breakfast would be mostly Keralite. Not sure of others but I enjoyed the traditional food there. Similarly in the evening buses would drop at the hotel itself. Sumptous lunch would be provided at IIMK canteen itself which will be mostly North Indian to balance both the sides.

On the day of departure while at airport be it Delhi/Mumbai/Calicut you would mostly see EPGP/EEPGM guys in and around and on one look of it you would know that a confused guys is another fellow student all set to go to Calicut.

You need not carry Notebook as well since these would be provided by IIMK as well. It sometimes rains in Kozhikode during this time so check the weather and you may have to carry umbrella though it is not mandatory(I did not carry it). First day would be mostly Introduction, Overview etc.

So welcome once again to student life ….

32 thoughts on “EPGP-04 and EEPGM-11 batch set to join IIMK

  1. Thanks Vinay for the info.

    I read your earlier blogs too about EMAT and that helped in prepare it well and get it through EPGP04.

  2. Thanks Mr. Vinay for Lovely inputs. IT seems that information regarding 1000 Calls for interview is correct as in my batch of 25 aspirants 10 got through, which preety much makes the ratio.

    Many congrats those who got througn and best of luck for future for those who can’t may there and better things waiting for them. Hope this turns out to be a good decision. Keeping my fingers crossed. Lots of anxiety about it..It would be great if you can through some more light on prospects and value addition out of the program

  3. Hi Vinay,

    Thanks for info, I had a question regarding accommodation, how do we come to know whether IIMK is providing accommodation or not.

    1. Best way would be to call up IIMK -IDL Office and ask them… John/Souja are the one whom you can interact with. OOMK phone number you can get from IIMK website itself. During our 2nd in campus session we were provided accommodation but it wasn’t provided during 1st in campus module

  4. Thanks Vinay, I confirmed from college. This time we need to make our own arrangements, they will send information about near by hotels by today.

  5. Hi, Vinay
    Thank you. Your blog was very helpful in preparing for EMAT & your blog provides significant insight into EPGP life. Keep blogging whenever you find time.

  6. “As per information I have IIMK has selected 300 people for the course of which 250 are for EPGP and 50 are for EEPGM ”

    Actually there were 168 people in the final list, 24 were EEPGM. Either many declined the admission, or your source was incorrect

  7. Disregard the previous comment. Actually you were right about the 300 people. The groups have been invited to campus in two batches, not at the same time.

  8. Hi vinay,
    I am pradeep and would be applying for Epgp(2013-2014) batch. Your blog is so inspiring for the all epgp prospective candidates. It would be of great help if you can send across some sample SOP and also please suggest me about mistakes one might do while applying. My email id is pradeep.grandhi@gmail.com
    Waiting your reply.
    Regards,
    Pradeep Grandhi

      1. Dear Vinay,

        Greetings!
        I am also applying for EPGP(2013-14). Could you please share a sample SOP to me. As pradeep stated, your blog is inspiring. Also it clarifies most of our open ended questions. Thank you for all your efforts in this regard.

        My mail id is : karthikeyan.ladappan@gmail.com

        Warm regards,
        Karthikeyan L

  9. Hi Vinay,

    The results for EPGP-06 are out and I have a good news to share with you, I’ve got selected.Thanks for your valuable guidance and support. Without your blog it wouldnt have been possible. Any ppl from bangalore who also got selected for EPGP-06 ? I choose Bellandur center. Looking forward to interacte with my prospective batch mates.

    Regards,
    Pradeep Grandhi

      1. Hi vinay. Thanks a lot for guidance . I also got selected for epgp-06. Also I am very positive about Xlri’s PGCBM for which results are not out yet. Thank you for your support for aspirants like me.

  10. Hi Vinay, I cleared EPGP-06 and got admission letter. This was my first try at any IIM and cleared it. My aim is IIMB’S PGPEM, since i started preparing for GMAT in Sep13. I am confused as to whether accept the IIMK offer or give my dream IIMB a try once. I feel IIIMB course has more interaction in real class than ePGP’s online interactions. Which one would be a better choice?

    1. Congrats for the same. Just couple of points before you consider –
      a) IIMB course is much expensive than EPGP IIMK
      b) Brand value for IIMB is definitely higher than EPGP IIMK
      c) Depends on whether you want to take a break of 1 year and then come back and join the job. Just remember that there is no concept of dream job. Also depends on what phase of life are you doing PGP. If you have 5-8 years experience and then thinking of IIMB EPGP you would be benefited as you can get higher position and salary. If you are already 13-16 years experience and then do the same the benefits would be lower.
      d) In any of the EPGP IIMK or IIMB it is not so easy to change the line .. e.g. from IT to Finance etc. If you ask me I haven’t seen anyone in my batch of 250 students that they could change their line of business to something else after doing this course.

    2. Manu,
      To tell you that you will be 1 in 10 who has cleared the test. IIMK is set their benchmark pretty relaxed while selecting their EPGP batch. Reason being multi-fold. They are there to get quick bucks and secondly they know that all guys coming in would be senior and have industry experience. Surely rigor is not same as what is there for regular PGP.

      If you really aspire to do this course then go for GMAT but then do you have that much fund to support.

      Regards
      Vinay

  11. Dear Vinay – I got selected in the IIM – EPGP 6th batch from Mumbai center. I am not able to decide whether to go for this course and it is worth spending 7.30 lakhs for this course in 2 years time. In terms of value and importance of course how one can en-cash it in terms of higher position and better job prospectus and salary. Kindly guide me so that I can take decision whether to join it or not. I would like to have your contact number so that can speak to you personally.

    Regards,

    Dhanesh Gala
    9320085885

    1. Dhanesh,
      I have tried to answer the same questions in multiple places in here. I can understand your dilemma and what value would be of this degree. To tell u upfront if you are looking at to en-cash it in market once you finish this course I am afraid to say you may not get any ROI on this. However if you are doing this course to get learnings out of it then definitely you will be benefited by it. This course will help you understand industry, market, finance , overall dynamics better. Rest it is up to you how do you convert it into returns…. You surely will not be able to get 2-3 level of jump if you think you can get by doing this course. However you can try for next level definitely.

      We surely can talk if you wish to – Call me up at 91-96119-25216

      Vinay

  12. Hi Vinay,

    Sorry to bother you with same kinda questions about ROI but I guess we are too anxious about the job prospects after completing the EPGP course. I cannot agree more with you about doing EPGP for the learnings but are we doing only for learnings is my question. I’m currently a Associate-consultant, will it be possible for me to directly apply for porject manager role after completing this course. Does EPGP enable me to jump the consultant level and directly go to PM level ? Also from your experience how did mid-level(say 7-10) guys got benefited from this course. How did EPGP pushed them in careers ? does companies (especially IT firms) even recognize/value this course ? Please let me know ur thoughts I am in total confusion.

    Regards,
    Pradeep Grandhi

  13. Pradeep … Plain answer is ‘No’ I know my answer will disappoint you but then I don’t want you to give you an answer which feels nice … If you do not have project management experience this course will not make you project manager. You may become project manager eventually by spending next 2 years doing this course and then eventually some good opportunity coming on your way while doing your job. It is not a job oriented course.. It will help you clear some fundamentals only. With that you may better perform in interview. But then if you are asking me if you can get a push from industry I would say you shouldn’t be expecting it.

Leave a comment